Connect with Facebook
Forgot your password?
feedback
January 28th, 2007 - by Be-Mag

Barely Dead Review

Tags: barely dead, doug urqhart, dvd review

After Doug Urquhart’s first huge success called Black Market he now released a brand new banger named Barely Dead. Barely Dead if following pretty much the same concept as Black Market did. But there are some different things...

After Doug Urquhart’s first huge success called Black Market he now released a brand new banger named Barely Dead. Barely Dead if following pretty much the same concept as Black Market did. But there are some different things. Black Market already was way ahead of every other rollerblading release so far and Barely Dead is again pushing the limits. This time Doug didn’t ‘just’ use digital HD cams, he used real film to shoot for Barely Dead. I have to say that this is one of my favourite DVD’s not only, but also, because it uses the 16:9 format which I find great!

The footage has got great colours and I think that this is because of Doug using real film. What I also really appreciate is that there are way less fisheye shots than in other DVD’s. Sometimes I think that people overuse fisheyes and it is really great to see tons of great shots without fisheyes! I actually don’t want to lose too many words about the skating and the filming. I mean there is not much more to say than that there is Doug behind the camera and that there are Bailey, Broskow, Haffey, Farmer, Shima, Stockwell, Bah, Short, Julio, Morales, Card and many others skating. What else do you need to know? I think this should be more than enough to guarantee great filming and amazing tricks!

I rather want to talk about the documentary. A lot of people say that they are complaining way too much about the state of rollerblading. But I think that the whole message that is transported is quite positive. It is also good to see how people actually care about rollerblading and this is why it is pretty safe to say that rollerblading will survive and get stronger again! It is also cool to see how the first rollerblades, if you want to call them rollerblades, were developed and how far we have already come! Even tough I know quite a bit about rollerblading’s history and already knew most of the information provided it was still great to watch. In my opinion this was not only made for kids that are new in rollerblading, or for outsiders. This is an amazing artwork which is also great for people which have been rollerbladers ‘since day one’.

As Barely Dead is presenting rollerblading’s history it will help to create a common identity for rollerbladers which should help to bring them even closer together. Due to a good mix of rollerblading sequences, motion graphics and people talking about rollerblading it is possible to make people pay attention for a pretty long time. I’m sure that after having seen Barely Dead people will understand rollerblading and us as rollerbladers much better than before. Hopefully they will also see that even tough there is not much money people are trying to bring out high quality products which can easily be compared with projects that have a more than ten times higher budget!

Get your copy of the DVD and show it to your family and friends… it will for sure have a positive impact!

-Lui Summer

Pictures

 
1 of 2
Barely Dead Review

070128_barelydead_review_01.JPG

 
Barely Dead Review Barely Dead Review



Support us by using these affiliate links: Amazon

Comments





Captcha Image

February 15th, 2007 @ 20:53 - by indecision indecision

Overall a pretty good documentary but the narration was a bit overwritten. But honestly, if you want to see a really, really good rollerblading documentary, go track down "It's All Good". Go ahead, I'll send a pie to anyone besides me who has a copy.
And two things:
"Why haven’t we read a NON rollerbladers perspective on Barely Dead yet?"
Probably something to do with the fact this video hasn't really had any play outside our own subculture. What we should be doing is trying to get this DVD more exposure. I mean the the B-unique guys entered theirs into the NY Independant and Urban World Film Festivals, and it wasn't really all that good.
"why isn’t anybody upset over the complete overlook of Europe in the entire movie?"
Probably because Doug doesn't live in Europe

February 06th, 2007 @ 21:12 - by jAy jAy

This really is amazing video, I think everyone should own one. Legally.

January 31st, 2007 @ 14:10 - by WUT! WUT!

Ths! - the second disc is exactly the same just in HD. Don't worry you aren't missing out on anything but increased definiton :]

January 31st, 2007 @ 10:34 - by klad klad

I really enjoyed watching Barely Dead, and my parents even joined me when i was watchin the documentary..

overall i think it's a really good DVD,

But one question about the second dvd,
I don't own an Apple computer, I wonder what's on the second disk, is it the same content as the first one in HD? or does it actually have special/different content?

January 30th, 2007 @ 15:34 - by Vasko_loko Vasko_loko

Hey Doug, reading all this makes me want to watch your movie.

January 30th, 2007 @ 12:23 - by Rand0mRoll77 Rand0mRoll77

Green Lantern pretty much said everything i wanted to say.
i agree that this video is maybe not as good as i've been expecting it (due to the hype) but it's still quite good.

What sucks a bit is that a lot of the interview-stuff only consists of phrases...like when ramelle knight says "it's more than a sport, it's a lifestyle"....that's alright but he could have said more "why" it is a lifestlye and what makes it so special.
I honestly hear people everyday saying thisandthat is a lifestlyle but these people don't give good reasons for it. Same thing goes with barely dead.

and one last thing: I'm sorry guys, but to blame skateboarding in the movie for rollerblading's current situation is a bit too easy..

January 30th, 2007 @ 12:19 - by Loki976 Loki976

can people, who have actually no idea about cinematography, stop posting comments?

January 30th, 2007 @ 07:46 - by Chun dong-min Chun dong-min

Hey "xxxx" quit hiding behind a screen name and know that my review was not "elitist" or "snobby" it was just constructive criticism. Ask yourself how long youve been rollerblading. I have gone through hundreds, and I mean hundreds of wheels in the 16 years Ive been rolling. I was buying hyper fat boys when you were an itch in your daddys pants. I was doing parking lot gaps in rollerblade lightnings in 1991 son! I am not known, but I am far from an outsider. I have lived the history you watch on the screen. I was riding in the BMX brigade with Dennis McCoy and Rick Thorne in KCMO when I read in BMX plus that Jess Dyrenforth had made the switch to rollerblades. I am a paramedic, husband, father, and yes, I fucking rollerblade!

I'll see you all at Superhick!
green lantern

January 30th, 2007 @ 06:24 - by WUT! WUT!

Scott W - just to pick up on your 'sounds of grinding' comment... that was a technical issue due to the cameras/film Doug was using.

January 30th, 2007 @ 05:08 - by Michael_B Michael_B

never under-estimate the fact that you have a direct line of communication on be-mag with the people behind the scenes too. so if you have something to voice about a product on the comments or on the msgboard chances are high that someone from this company will read this. and a lot of people take these inputs, since feedback is always important. we value your feedback and listen to our readers, and a lot of other companies do so too.

January 29th, 2007 @ 18:56 - by $K4M LYF3(FBA) $K4M  LYF3(FBA)

I don't know why people insist that rollerblading needs elitest, snobby, caustic reviews on it's shit...it won't change anything...the skaters, editors, and directors will not change because of comments made to them by outsiders...the direct emphasis of ART on a person's life is to reject what others say and do what they desire...telling Doug his video needed something it didn't have isn't going to change anything...so I don't understand why a heavily constructive view is needed at all...

January 29th, 2007 @ 13:42 - by Chun dong-min Chun dong-min

Overall the movie is pretty good. Could it have been done better? Yes, but that also requires more money. Here are a few things I would have liked to see different.
1. More interviews with the rollerbladers who started all this. I mean to leave Chris Edwards out of the film except for a short ass clip is pretty much unthinkable. wtf. Brian Shima should be interviewed way before Elliot. A Walton and daily bread, E Schrijn, TJ, Rene Hulgren, Toto, Latimer, Champion, B love to name a few.
2. Where are the sounds of grinding? Watch the film and see what I mean. I believe Doug addressed this in a rolling revival podcast.
3. More about the evolution of skate technology and how that helped open up a whole new era of skating. Put on some rollerblade lightnings from 89' and try your disaster soul.
4.Why do people rollerblade? Is it just performanced based self esteem? Or is it somthing more?
5.Whats up with the title "Barely Dead"? who are these people who wish rollerblading was barely dead? < theres a statement in the movie somthing to that effect. I dont think the world cares if rollerblading is dead or not.

Well just thought i'd offer some constructive criticism. Overall its still a pretty good film and I think every rollerblader out there should buy it!

green lantern
rolling since 91'

January 29th, 2007 @ 07:01 - by anti.copy anti.copy

I think the skating is fucking ultra, but just not super hype, the documantery is pretty cool...

January 29th, 2007 @ 06:27 - by JiggaWhat JiggaWhat

the movie is not so good at all....the tricks and the editing is good...just not so jucie..

January 29th, 2007 @ 05:49 - by WUT! WUT!

I've actually had tons of great feedback from people outside the sport about Barely Dead... and not just random people... I'm talking about people who work in the media, magazine editors and people who work in TV.

As for patting each other on the back... it is possible for someone connected to Be-Mag to like a dvd AND have it be their honest opinion. ;]

January 29th, 2007 @ 03:49 - by mike_currier mike_currier

@joeymc: When you had a look at the reviews that I have written so far you see that not all of them are very positive! This is just what I think about the DVD and I know that there is no one else with _exactly_ the same opinion!

Perhaps I can get someone who is no rollerblader to watch the DVD and write something about it...

January 28th, 2007 @ 19:49 - by michaelrose85 michaelrose85

I concur with Joeymc

January 28th, 2007 @ 17:14 - by i hate smiling i hate smiling

SUPER AWESOME!

January 28th, 2007 @ 17:01 - by paulabowen paulabowen

I agree joeymc!!! givin ourselves a blow-job is not gonna look very good to an outsider!!!

January 28th, 2007 @ 16:43 - by Joschsk8 Joschsk8

the european scene is so strong right now it doesnt need a dvd to revive it from the dead.
but on a positive note barely dead was really well done!
we need more professionals to produce stuff like this in rollerblading.

1 - 2 > »

Be-mag Subscription

Be-mag Subscription

Only USD 35.00 order now!

Latest articles Feed

April 03rd, 2014 Jojo Jacobi

The 2014 Panhandle Pow-Wow VIII

March 27th, 2014 Jojo Jacobi

Behind the scenes: Alex Broskow and David Sizemore about the V13 "Coffee" Pro Model Promo

March 12th, 2014 Be-Mag

Short Facts: The Pow-wow Pro/Am 2014

March 10th, 2014 Be-Mag

Motor Town Classic: Personality Photoset

March 08th, 2014 Be-Mag

Motor Town Classic: Blading Photoset

Blading.info

September 04st, 2013 Blading.info

Report: Windy City Riot, Chicago 2013

August 23st, 2013 Blading.info

Announcement: Real Street Amsterdam 2013

July 25st, 2013 Blading.info

Announcement: Windy City Riot 2013

June 06st, 2013 Blading.info

Blading is dead?!

May 22st, 2013 Blading.info

Bladergram #3: Dave Lang